Users + Groups

What should I know about the Users + Groups before I start?

The Users + Groups section allows administrators to manage their website's users. They can manually add users or approve users that have registered themselves. They can also create and assign custom user groups, which are generally used for various permissions on specific pages within the website.

How do I open Users + Groups?

Step 1: Hover over the "Manage" button in the Javelin Bar.

Step 2: Select "Users + Groups".

How do I add a user manually?

Step 1: Open Users + Groups.

Step 2: Click "Add User" from the left.

Step 3: Fill out the following information:

  • E-mail Address (required)
  • Password: New & Confirm (required)
  • Approved/Active
    If this isn't checked, the user can't log in
  • Name
  • User Groups
    Select applicable user group(s) if any; users can belong to multiple user groups.

Step 4: Click "Save".

Step 5: Inform the user of their log in. Javelin does not automatically inform users accounts have been created.

How do I view a user's information?

Step 1: Open Users + Groups.

Step 2: Click on the name or email address of the person in question.

How do I delete users?

Step 1: Open Users + Groups.

Step 2: Click the checkbox next to the user(s).

Step 3: Select "Delete" from the "With Selected" dropdown.

Step 4: Click "Save".

How do I create a user group?

Please note, user groups do not automatically create permissions. Those are controlled through the page settings.

Step 1: Open Users + Groups.

Step 2: Click "User Groups" from the left.

Step 3: Type a name and description for the group.

Step 4: Click "Save".

How do I edit a user group?

Step 1: Open Users + Groups.

Step 2: Click "User Groups" from the left.

Step 3: Click "Edit" next to the appropriate user group.

Step 4: Update the information as desired.

Step 5: Click "Save".

How do I delete a User Group

Step 1: Open Users + Groups.

Step 2: Click "User Groups" from the left.

Step 3: Click "Delete" on the appropriate user group.

Step 4: Click "OK" at the prompt.

How do I view all users in a user group?

Step 1: Open Users + Groups.

Step 2: Click "User Groups" from the left.

Step 3: Click the name of the user group.

How do I Un/Approve multiple users at once?

If you are needing to approve multiple users at once, most likely they were added through the Register module.

Step 1: Open Users + Groups.

Step 2: Click the checkbox next to the names.
Step 2a: Click the checkbox next to "Name" to select all users.

Step 3: Use the "With Selected" dropdown to select the appropriate command.

Step 4: Click "Save".